Keep Learning

It’s always a good thing to keep learning new things. Just a few days ago I can say I started to learn how to splice line. It was very aggravating at first but started to get a little easier. I need to keep practicing and try new types of splicing but for the first time not a bad start.

line splice image

This the the result of my first attempt.  I know it could be and needs to be tighter but still a success in my opinion.

Line splice

Learning how to splice can be used for an array of jobs.  Like this one can be used on cleats at the dock.  You can splice a line to chain, shackles, or pretty much anything you need to. Splices are preferred to knotting lines/rope as knots reduce the lines strength 20-40% while splices can attain the lines full strength.

This entry was posted in learning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.