Basic and Simple

After some long days, and restless nights, I’ve been known to pickup an energy drink or two to help kick start the day.  I keep hearing they are not good for you and even though I haven’t researched it myself, they probably are not.  One of my co-workers introduced me to Cuban coffee.  While I am not a coffee drinker, I was intrigued.  He kept talking about how great it was and so much better than regular coffee.  He brought in a very small styrofoam cup and tiny little thimble sized cups.

cuban coffee cups

Now I was curious.  He told me he was bringing cuban coffee, but what he brought was half the size of a normal coffee cup.  He assured me it was the right stuff and more than enough.  First impression, again from a non coffee drinker was yuck.  After a couple of tiny sips, and the first impression pushed out of my mind, the flavor started to come through.  It was very strong, even to a coffee novice like myself.  However not regular black coffee strong and a little hint of sweet.  A few days in a row of these and they began to grow on me.  Then I soon upgraded to a ‘double’ which is just that, double the size and double the price.  While not that all expensive, keeping track of my budget, I can see the saving for a boat dwindle over time.  So I started thinking of how to have the same thing for less money.  I stumbled upon a moka pot to make the little sweet coffee nectar energizing concoctions.

P1010450

For only $7 for the pot and $2 for a block of vacuum sealed cuban coffee, I can make these at home for a fraction of the price.  There are no filters to buy, just put grounds and water in the pot and add a little heat.  In just a few minuets, you have this uplifting liquid gently flowing into the top pot.  Now for a boat this seems to be a can’t beat deal.  It is very small, no working parts, no coffee filters to buy and just needs a rinse.  Best of all there isn’t any glass that can break if underway (if we had a boat).  This seems like it will come in very handy for quite some time.  Best of all, it has already paid for itself and then some.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.